Facebook Welcome

From USA Today bestselling author Jo Goodman....

Coming May 6th!


In Want Of A Wife


Jane Middlebourne needs a way out. In 1891, life in New York is unforgiving for a young woman with no prospects, especially when her family wants nothing to do with her. So when Jane discovers an ad for a mail-order bride needed in Bitter Springs, Wyoming, she responds with a hopeful heart.


Rancher Morgan Longstreet is in want of a wife who will be his partner at Morning Star, someone who will work beside him and stand by him. His first impression of the fair and fragile Jane is that she is not that woman. But when she sets out to prove him wrong, the secrets he cannot share put into jeopardy every
happiness they hope to find.

Publisher's Weekly Starred Review

Goodman makes a dazzling return trip to 1891 and the town of Bitter Springs, Wyo. (after True to the Law), in this page-turning historical that slyly pays tribute to Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. Jane Middlebourne, the orphaned daughter of missionaries, longs to flee her bleak life in New York City. She agrees to be the mail-order bride of rancher Morgan Longstreet. Morgan is hoping for a sturdy wife who can help him run his ranch, so he’s shocked by the delicate-looking woman who steps off the train. While at first the pairing seems incongruous, Jane and Morgan rapidly learn that opposites can attract, and Morgan finds that Jane is feistier than he gave her credit for being. But when Morgan’s past comes back to haunt them, it could have consequences for the entire town, leading to a dramatic and engrossing finish. This first-rate tale easily measures up to its predecessors and will make readers eager for their next visit to Bitter Springs. (May)

Pre-order your copy today!



Boots Under Her Bed

Felicity Ravenwood was raised to be independent-minded, but when this runaway bride opposes her father’s choices, it is up to Nat Church to bring her around. But he doesn’t count on springing her from jail, holding her hostage, or falling head over boot-heels in love.

Order your copy today!

Her Defiant Heart

Book 1 in the Marshall Bro. Series
(Formerly Midnight Princess)

Saving her…

He swore he was done fighting battles, so it is against his better judgment that Civil War veteran and war hero Christian Marshall agrees to aid in the escape of a mysterious young woman confined to a New York City asylum. When his plans are thwarted by the very woman he is trying to rescue, it is yet another painful reminder that good intentions count for nothing, and that all painful reminders are best drowned in a bottle of good whiskey and the arms of a whore.

Saving him…

It is more by accident than design that Jenny Holland finds her way to Marshall House, but once there, she recognizes it as the respite and refuge she's been seeking from the horror of the asylum. Safety, though, comes at a price, and Jenny knows that
to remain in this sanctuary and guard her life-and-death secrets,
she must find some way to make herself necessary to the dark
and dangerous master of the house. The most difficult part of
serving at the will and pleasure of Christian Marshall is the certain
knowledge that being his mistress will never be enough and that
healing his wounds means exposing hers.

Read Tidbits

Order your copy here

His Heart's Revenge

Book 2 in the Marshall Bro. Series
(Formerly Passion's Sweet Revenge)

She owed him her passion…

Logan Marshall was not looking for Mary Catherine McCleary when he found her, but once their paths crossed for a second time, he was not about to let her go. Here was the girl who had betrayed him during the war, all grown up now, the toast of the New York theatre scene, and using a stage name to hide behind. It did not matter to Logan that the playbill said "Katy Dakota," he knew she was his Katy, an actress even before she learned to make a living at it when she lulled him into lowering his guard and abandoning his common sense, and then sent him to the most notorious prison the South had to offer a Union spy.

He would have his revenge…

She had never forgotten him. He was her first love, the man she had wanted above all others, her knight, her friend…her enemy. Katy Dakota knew what Logan meant to claim from her this time
around, and the revenge he would exact would be as exquisite
as it would be damning. As the publisher of the New York Chronicle,
he could influence her career, her acceptance in society, but that
paled in comparison to his influence over her as a man. She could
run, escape, but was being a prisoner to his passion worse than
what she had done to him? Could it be that in the end revenge
cuts both ways?

Read Tidbits

Order your copy here

True To The Law


True To The Law
"Find her" is the only instruction that private detective Cobb Bridger receives from Andrew Mackey. The scion of a wealthy Chicago family, Mackey is desperate to know the whereabouts of the woman who disappeared from his employ, taking with her something of great value. Intrigued as much by what Mackey won't say about the missing item as he is by Mackey's description of the missing woman, Cobb accepts the assignment.


Bitter Springs, Wyoming, has a new schoolteacher who may or may not be exactly what she seems. Upon making the acquaintance of Miss Tru Morrow, Cobb begins to question the guilt of this golden-haired lady—and the protective feelings she stirs in him. His investigation hinges on understanding where the
truth lies.

In this engrossing novel set in 1889 Wyoming, Goodman (A Place Called Home) delivers a lovable and feisty heroine and an upstanding lawman who find each other in highly unlikely circumstances. Gertrude “Tru” Morrow is bereft and at loose ends after the death of her wealthy employer, Charlotte Mackey, in Chicago. She takes a job as a schoolteacher in the tiny town of Bitter Springs, Wyo., but trouble follows her: Mrs. Mackey’s grandson, Andrew, thinks Tru stole from his grandmother and hires detective Cobb Bridger to find her. In the process of checking her out, Cobb falls hard for Tru, a minister’s daughter with a fondness for fine whiskey. All that remains is to figure out who’s lying to whom. Engaging characters and a well-plotted story will captivate the reader all the way to the satisfying conclusion.

~ Publishers Weekly

Berkley Books

Order your copy today!

Thorne Brothers Trilogy

My Steadfast Heart My Reckless Heart With All My Heart

Readers have been asking when Jo's older out of print titles will be available in an ebook format. It's finally happening. First up, the Thorne Brothers Trilogy with three fabulous new covers. Jo thinks of this as her foster child series because the underlying theme is reuniting a family. The ebooks will be available October 2012 at Amazon, iBooks, B&N, Kobo, Sony, and Overdrive. Go to Tidbits to get Jo's take on each book as she was writing it. Click here to read about the books.

Read Tidbits

AAR award

Check out all the winners and categories at


"Goodman's elegant and wryly witty style ensures that her latest is a perfect treat for readers who enjoy smart, sensual love stories á la
                                                                                           Amanda Quick"

Praise For The Novels Of Jo Goodman

"Exquisitely written. Rich in detail, the characters are passionately drawn... An excellent read."
                                                                            --- The Oakland Press

"Delightful and exciting... Goodman holds the suspense as well as the surprises and never lets up on the passion."
                                                                              --- Romantic Times